How many IPL finals have CSK played? Finals won, lost, and more

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been as intense and exciting as before, if not more. With the competition coming to a close, fans will be vying to see who out of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Gujarat Titans (GT) comes out on top to win this year’s IPL trophy in the Final on May 29.

CSK have been the gatekeeper of IPL since its inception in 2008, and have been an integral part of the competition in the 14 seasons they have participated in. The second-most successful franchise in IPL after Mumbai Indians (MI), they will be looking to make a bigger mark on the competition’s history by winning the tournament this year.

MORE: Bet on the IPL playoffs here 

TSN takes a look at CSK’s final history, including records, matches, won, etc.

How many times have CSK reached IPL Finals?

CSK have reached the IPL Final ten times, more than any other side in the tournament’s grand history.

How many times have CSK won in IPL Finals?

The Super Kings have won four out of nine finals they have competed in so far. This makes them the second most successful franchise in IPL, with only MI having won more finals (5)

MORE: How to watch IPL 2023 season online and on TV Full list of players, teams for IPL 2023

How many times have CSK lost in IPL Finals?

CSK have lost five of the nine finals they have so far played in, with their most recent loss coming in 2019 against MI.

CSK overall performance in IPL Finals?

Year Opponent Venue Result
2008 Rajasthan Royals DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai Runners-up
2010 Mumbai Indians DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai Champions
2011 Royal Challengers Bangalore M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Champions
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Runners-up
2013 Mumbai Indians Eden Gardens, Kolkata Runners-up
2015 Mumbai Indians Eden Gardens, Kolkata Runners-up
2018 Sunrisers Hyderabad Wankhede Stadium, Kolkata Champions
2019 Mumbai Indians Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad Runners-up
2021 Kolkata Knight Riders Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Champions